

<u>Register of Interests – members of the Technology Advisory Panel</u>

January 2023

Professor Dame Muffy Calder
Panel Chair, Technology Advisory Panel
Declaration of Interest: Current Roles and Memberships
Vice-Principal University of Glasgow
Prime Minister's Council for Science and Technology (member)
BCS (British Computer Society) School Curriculum and Assessment Committee (chair)
Editorial Board of Proceedings of the Royal Society A
Declaration of Interest: Current Research funding received from
EPSRC (Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council)
Declaration of Interests: Other
None

Daryl Burns
Panel Member, Technology Advisory Panel
Declaration of Interest: Current Roles and Memberships
ArQit: Executive Advisor on cryptography and cybersecurity, primarily in the area of quantum
technologies
TrustStamp: Executive Advisor on cryptography and cybersecurity, primarily in the area of
biometric security. This covers various modalities including face, voice, finger and palm prints.
IDEE: Executive Advisor on cryptography and cybersecurity, primarily in the area of end-to-end
zero trust architectures
Declaration of Interest: Current Research funding received from
None
Declaration of Interests: Other
News

None

John Davies

Panel Member, Technology Advisory Panel

Declaration of Interest: Current Roles and Memberships

Director Cheltenham Systems Ltd (advising a Privacy Consultancy, and working with a UK-based cloud provider on a project)

Minority shareholder and director in a cyber resilience start-up (both UK and Maltese companies), helping them build engineering infrastructure

Declaration of Interest: Current Research funding received from

None

Declaration of Interests: Other

None

Professor Alison Etheridge
Panel Member, Technology Advisory Panel
Declaration of Interest: Current Roles and Memberships
Professor, University of Oxford and Fellow of Magdalen College
Member of Council, Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council
Member of Council, The Royal Society of London
Chair, The Council for the Mathematical Sciences
Member Scientific Board, The Smith Institute
Declaration of Interest: Current Research funding received from
None
Declaration of Interests: Other
None

Professor Derek McAuley
Panel Member, Technology Advisory Panel
Declaration of Interest: Current Roles and Memberships
UKCRC Member
Director Horizon at University of Nottingham
Deputy Director Trustworthy Autonomous Systems Hub, led by University of Southampton
Chair ORBIT Advisory Board
Declaration of Interest: Current Research funding received from
UKRI (UK Research and Innovation):
EPSRC (Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council)
AHRC (Arts and Humanities Research Council)
ESRC (Economic and Social Research Council)
BBC (grant held on behalf of his postdoc as grant needs to be held by an academic)
Declaration of Interests: Other
None

Professor R	Richard M	ortier
-------------	-----------	--------

Panel Member, Technology Advisory Panel

Declaration of Interest: Current Roles and Memberships

President, Christ's College, Cambridge

Elected member, College Council, Christ's College, Cambridge (thus a Trustee of the College)

Director of Studies in Computer Science, Christ's College, Cambridge

Professor, Cambridge University

Chair, Board of Scrutiny, Cambridge University (from Oct 2021 – previously elected member)

Member, Cambridge Centre for Science and Policy

Member, Email scrutiny panel, Cambridge University

Member, International Scientific Committee, UK Trustworthy Autonomous Systems (TAS) Hub

Member, Infrastructure Portfolio Technical Advisory Group, Cambridge University

Director & CTO of IKVA Limited (was Kvasir Analytics Limited)

Area Editor for Edge Systems, Journal of Systems Research

Declaration of Interest: Current Research funding received from

UKRI (UK Research and Innovation):

EPSRC (Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council)

Huawei

ВΤ

InnovateUK

Declaration of Interests: Other

None

Professor Sarvapali D. Ramchurn	
	2

Panel Member, Technology Advisory Panel

Declaration of Interest: Current Roles and Memberships

Director, Crowdsourcing Consulting Services Limited

Director, Empati Limited

Advisor, UTU Limited

Secretary, Kajgop Limited

Declaration of Interest: Current Research funding received from

UKRI (UK Research and Innovation) Trustworthy Autonomous Systems (TAS) Hub (to Sept 2024)

AXA Research Fund (to July 2022) – funded via University, not personally working for them

Shell (to Sept 2025) - funded via University, not personally working for them

Declaration of Interests: Other

MOD AI (Artificial Intelligence) Ethics Panel

Sir Bernard Silverman

Panel Member, Technology Advisory Panel

Declaration of Interest: Current Roles and Memberships

Chair of the Geospatial Commission, DSIT (Department for Science, Innovation and Technology).

Chair of Methodology Assurance Panel for the Census, Office for National Statistics

Council Member, Economic and Social Research Council

Emeritus Professor of Statistics, University of Oxford

Board, Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology

Trustee, UK-China Transparency. (Registered charity 1201902).

Declaration of Interest: Current Research funding received from None

Declaration of Interests: Other

None